State Testing Information

Academic Progress

The California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) consists of the following components:

  • English Language Arts assessment, taken by all students in grades 3 through 8;
  • Mathematics assessment, taken by all students in grades 3 through 8;
  • Science assessment, taken by students in grades 5 and 8 only.

Accessing and understanding your child's Scores

coming soon

Physical Fitness



English Proficiency

The English Language Proficiency Assessment for California (ELPAC) exams are given to students whose Home Language Survey indicates that their primary language is not English. There are two types of ELPAC exams:

  • Initial ELPAC assessment, given to each student once upon their initial enrollment in a California public school. This test indicated whether or not the student is initially fluent in English. If the student is not fluent, they are classified as an "English Learner" and provided with supports including English Language Development instruction.
  • Summative ELPAC assessment, given to each English Learner in the spring of each year. When the student scores highly enough ("Well Developed") on this assessment, and the student meets certain other criteria, they can be "reclassified" as fluent in English, and no longer need to take the Summative ELPAC exam each year.

For more information on ELPAC and Santee School District's Multilingual Learner program, please see this page.